General African Cichlid Discussion • Plecostomus in Cichlid tanks?

For general questions and issues. Post here if you are unsure of their origin or if you have questions about mixing.

Moderators: Floridagirl, DJRansome

Plecostomus in Cichlid tanks?

Postby sisonek » Sun Sep 13, 2009 8:34 pm

I am very new to African Cichlids having only had them for about 2 months and I need to put some kind of algae eater in the tanks with them. The first tank that I tried to put one in was a Mbuna tank that has been established for about a month with only the Cichlids in it. So I put a bushy nosed Plecostomus in with them. The Cichlids are all still less than 3 inches and the Plecostomus that I put in there was about 5 inches immediately the Cichlids started attacking the Plecostomus picking at his tail and the bristles in-between his eyes ,so I took him out and put him in my wife’s community tank.
So my questions are:
Will the Mbuna pick him to death or are they just annoying him but not actually causing any harm?
Will they get use to him after a few days and not bother him anymore?
Would he being in there even if it is not really hurting him stress him out?
Is there a different kind of fish that eats algae that is better suited to Cichlid tanks?
Would it be better to cycle the tank with a Plecostomus first then start introducing Cichlids?
sisonek

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby ladybugzcrunch » Sun Sep 13, 2009 9:43 pm

My mbuna do not play well with plecos. The last one I tried was bigger than them and was torn up really bad so I removed him. I think it depends on the mbuna and their aggression level. Mine seem to be very mean toward them.
Too many tanks!
ladybugzcrunch

Postby amazonfriend » Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:03 pm

wow - those guys are nasty!
amazonfriend

Postby ridley25 » Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:14 pm