DIY - Projects & Ideas • Broken hottub into a pond?

This is for do-it-yourself projects and inventions.

Moderators: Deeda, Kanorin

Broken hottub into a pond?

Postby clgkag » Tue May 26, 2009 4:53 pm

I have an opportunity to get a non-working hottub for nothing and was wondering if anyone had ever made a pond out of one? Just plug the jets and install a pond filter. Would the great stuff expanding foam work for plugging the jets? Any and all input welcome. Thanks
clgkag

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby dwarfpike » Tue May 26, 2009 5:06 pm

I have seen pools converted to koi ponds, but not a hot tub before.
dwarfpike

Postby venustus19 » Tue May 26, 2009 5:11 pm

i think it would work fine...

my only thing would be(for me at least) is make sure you do not see any part of the hotub... i would not want anyone to think anything other than "it's a pond"

as far as plugging the jets, i have never used great stuff before unde water, but what about siliconing the #%$& out of the jets... or maybe partial great stuff and the rest silicone???

just my 2 cents...
90 Gallon Mixed Malawi Tank

30B Tang tank in mind
venustus19

Postby Johnson14 » Tue May 26, 2009 5:43 pm

are you going to put it in the ground? if so you might want to just take the plastic insert out of the foam.

but if you are just going to use it as it is then why are you going to get anoither filter?? hot tubs already have filters built in.
Johnson14

Postby clgkag » Tue May 26, 2009 6:00 pm

Johnson14 wrote:are you going to put it in the ground? if so you might want to just take the plastic insert out of the foam.

but if you are just going to use it as it is then why are you going to get anoither filter?? hot tubs already have filters built in.