Equipment & Supplies • Enough filtration for bio load?

For discussion regarding filters, lights, heaters, pumps, etc.

Moderators: Deeda, Kanorin

Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby thegraacks » Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:12 pm

I have a 40g tank I'll be stocking with saulosi. I'll have 12-15 after they're adults and I have my ratio I want. I'm currently running a marineland penguin with bio wheel and two filters at 150 gph and an Aqueon quiet flow at 250gph. Is this ok?
40g Breeder-3 Black skirt tetras, BN pleco
I'm a one man wolfpack
User avatar
thegraacks
 
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:07 pm
Location: Illinois

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby countryboy814 » Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:20 pm

I think 12-15 adults are too many for a 40 gal.
Be careful what you say. Censors are working 24/7.
User avatar
countryboy814
 
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:24 pm
Location: Central NY

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby thegraacks » Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:55 pm

It'll be 10 with a 1:4 ratio and maybe 2 BN plecos
40g Breeder-3 Black skirt tetras, BN pleco
I'm a one man wolfpack
User avatar
thegraacks
 
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:07 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby 13razorbackfan » Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:13 am

400gph total sounds fine and remember the nitrifiers will attach themselves to the rocks, substrate, plants, etc...

You may add a small powerhead for extra circulation if you want or need.
User avatar
13razorbackfan
 
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:19 am
Location: Arkansas

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby Fishy_Cichlid » Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:01 am

The water turnover is adequate. But biological filtration depends on the type of Media used and type of filtration. More surface area means more places for more bacteria to settle down. A sump (with proper media) is a more effective Biological filter in comparison to say a canister. Again, your bacteria will grow to the optimum level based on the Biological load of the tank. So less load means lesser bacteria even though your filter surface area is capable of homing more quantities of bacteria. The reverse isn't the same though since you are limited by the surface area of your media.

However, 12-15 numbers are way too many in a 40 G.
The Greeks didn't write obituaries, they only asked one question after a man died : Did he have passion ?

F1 Cyphotilapia Gibberosa Zaire (Moba)
F1 Cyphotilapia Gibberosa Zaire (Kapampa)
Fishy_Cichlid
 
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:34 am
Location: I am a Cypho addict !!!

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby countryboy814 » Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:20 am

thegraacks wrote:It'll be 10 with a 1:4 ratio and maybe 2 BN plecos

Okay that's 12. Too much of a bio load for a 40 gal.
Be careful what you say. Censors are working 24/7.
User avatar
countryboy814
 
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:24 pm
Location: Central NY

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby thegraacks » Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:21 pm

I was following the cookie cutter setup from this site. Instead of having two species of cichlids i am doing one species tank with the two BN plecos. http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/c ... er_40g.php
40g Breeder-3 Black skirt tetras, BN pleco
I'm a one man wolfpack
User avatar
thegraacks
 
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:07 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby countryboy814 » Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:53 pm

thegraacks wrote:It'll be 10 with a 1:4 ratio and maybe 2 BN plecos

You can do whatever you want but this is too many fish for a 40 gal. They don't stay juvies for ever.
Be careful what you say. Censors are working 24/7.
User avatar
countryboy814
 
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:24 pm
Location: Central NY

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby GTZ » Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:54 pm

If it's a 48"x13" 40g, 10 should be fine. It's the same footprint as a 55g. I'd probably go with a single BN.
75G L. caeruleus (Lundo Is.) | Ps. demasoni | Met. greshakei
55G WC Cynotilapia sp. 'hara' | Metriaclima sp. 'elongatus chewere' | L. caeruleus (Lundo Is.)
Flickr
Malawi Bloat
User avatar
GTZ
Admin - Forum
 
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:54 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby countryboy814 » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:04 pm

GTZ wrote:If it's a 48"x13" 40g, 10 should be fine. It's the same footprint as a 55g. I'd probably go with a single BN.

It may be the samie foot print but not the same volume. It's 12 fish. Twelve 5" fish
Be careful what you say. Censors are working 24/7.
User avatar
countryboy814
 
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:24 pm
Location: Central NY

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby GTZ » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:33 pm

countryboy814 wrote:
GTZ wrote:If it's a 48"x13" 40g, 10 should be fine. It's the same footprint as a 55g. I'd probably go with a single BN.

It may be the samie foot print but not the same volume. It's 12 fish. Twelve 5" fish

At best, Ps. saulosi will reach 4.5 inches in the aquarium, the average will be closer to 4" or less, particularly with females. I don't see anything wrong with stocking 10 in a 48"x13"x16" tank.
Also, 10+1=11.
75G L. caeruleus (Lundo Is.) | Ps. demasoni | Met. greshakei
55G WC Cynotilapia sp. 'hara' | Metriaclima sp. 'elongatus chewere' | L. caeruleus (Lundo Is.)
Flickr
Malawi Bloat
User avatar
GTZ
Admin - Forum
 
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:54 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby countryboy814 » Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:58 am

thegraacks wrote:I was following the cookie cutter setup from this site. Instead of having two species of cichlids i am doing one species tank with the two BN plecos. http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/c ... er_40g.php

I don't know.....seems like 12.
Be careful what you say. Censors are working 24/7.
User avatar
countryboy814
 
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:24 pm
Location: Central NY

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby AulonoKarl » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:25 am

That should be enough biological filtration, but it's kind of on the low end of what I think I would do. I would probably aim for two HOB filters that would combine for about 600 GPH. I like to have plenty of water movement under the surface to keep the waste off of the substrate. I don't think what you have will do that, so you will probably end up vacuuming a lot. You could probably use the two filters that you mentioned in conjunction with an underwater powerhead or two, as razorbackfan mentioned, for much better results.
User avatar
AulonoKarl
 
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:56 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Enough filtration for bio load?

Postby Jmanolinsky » Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:57 am

Just to throw some more opinion in the matter, it really depends on your maintenance schedule as well.
Jmanolinsky
 
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:25 am
Location: Knoxville, TN


Return to Equipment & Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sumthinfishy and 5 guests