Lake Malawi Species • Keeping Tropheus with Mbuna

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

Keeping Tropheus with Mbuna

Postby mmd » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:08 pm

Thank you for reading my post. (I will be posting on a Tropheus and Malawi website to get perspective from both. I have several years experience with mbuna, and about 9 months with tropheus (duboisi).
I have not kept Africans for several years as I was limited to one tank and it contained Discus.
My current situation;
75 gallon tank; 4.8 psuedotropheus salousi; 1 psuedotropheus socolofi; 2.1 Kyoga flamebacks (Victorian haps), ther haps are adult size 3-4 inches long, the salousi are about 2 inches.
125 gallon tank; 16 Tropheus Ilangi; 4 Tropheus Pemba; 3 Metraclimia Estherae; 2 Lithobates; 2 Melanochromis Maingano. The Trophs are all about 2 inches.
I feed NLS, spirulina flake and flake.
My past handling I would always consider adult size when stocking my tanks, only to, in most cases move onto another species and sell them before adult size was an issue. Now I get what I like, once they get to adult size I will decide what groups must then go.
Here is my Dilema; I may have to combine both tanks to the 125 gallon, I know at this time all would most likely coexist, but going forward (next 4-12 months) would I run into issues ?.
My favorite species and ones I would really like to keep would be the Saulosi, they are permanent, followed by the tropheus (both the illangi and Pemba)and maingano. I would look to add a few more maingano and pemba to keep the conspecific aggression down.
125 gallon AGA, 3.6 Placidochromis Phenocolus Tanzania, 1.0 Protomelas Tanzania, 1.0 Phenocolus electra, peacocks and 2.2 Cyno Afra Jalo reef & a clown loach
mmd

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Keeping Tropheus with Mbuna

Postby KingPiccolo SB » Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:38 pm