General African Cichlid Discussion • Intro, and some questions

For general questions and issues. Post here if you are unsure of their origin or if you have questions about mixing.

Moderators: Floridagirl, DJRansome

Intro, and some questions

Postby Jorge H. » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:12 pm

Hello, everyone. My name is Jorge, and I'm returning to my aquarium hobby after a long hiatus. Initially, I kept South American cichlids, Jack Dempseys, in particular. I've been keeping an African tank for about 4-5 months, and everything is going smoothly. I don't intend to breed. It's more of a desire to have the serenity that comes with having a beautiful tank to get lost in, and have something living, besides me, in my 1 bedroom apartment (wow, that sounds really sad. lol ). Anyways, since I'm not a COMPLETE noob, you'd think I'd know better than to jump right in, without researching these fellas first, but... :oops: Like I said, they all seem very happy, but I just wanted to run my setup by you guys, and get some feedback, good or bad. I have a Mbuna tank, that's for sure, though I'm not totally positive about the ID of a few of these guys. From what I've read around here, so far, some of my selections shouldn't work, but they do, and they have for these past 4-5 months.
Jorge H.

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby Jorge H. » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:12 pm

This is a 55-gallon tank. Filtered by a Penguin 350 with dual bio-wheels.

This is what I know I have:

2 Auratus: 1 is the dominant male, complete with coloring (3"), the other (2")
3 Metriaclima estherae: 1 showing some traces of blue and red in all of its fins (3"), another (2"), and the smallest (1")
2 Kenyis: 1 is turning yellow (2"), the other (1.5")
2 Labidochromis caeruleus: 1 (3"), the other (2")
2 bright, yet soft blue, with black "trimming" to all their fins (I can't ID them): Both (2")
1 Albino (can't ID): (3")
1 Pseudotropheus crabro: (2")
1 Acei: (1.5")
1 Venustus: (1.5")