General African Cichlid Discussion • Can Clown Loaches Survive in A. Cichlid Tank?

For general questions and issues. Post here if you are unsure of their origin or if you have questions about mixing.

Moderator: DJRansome

Can Clown Loaches Survive in A. Cichlid Tank?

Postby LabLoVer1 » Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:54 am

The size is a 55g and i have quite a few A. Cichlids with lots of rocc work
the current list are about:

5 yellow Labs
2 Albino Zebras
2 Johannis

they are no bigger than 2in. I was just curious and wanted to know
from more experienced owners and dealers with A. Cichlids so
please let me any info and suggestions you guys have thanks in
advance...
LabLoVer1

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby lovemycichlids805 » Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:28 am

Well we had 2 clown loaches in with our african cichlids and at first they were fine. We developed ich (or so I thought) and ended up with dead clown loaches. I'm no expert by any means but I don't see why you couldn't. I know alot of ppl who have clown loaches in their A. cichlid tanks. Also the LFS has them in with their A.cichlids, and at my LFS they are pretty smart people.
lovemycichlids805

Postby QHgal » Thu Apr 24, 2008 12:16 pm

Some have had luck with them and some haven't. Guess it depends on the attitudes of your fish.

Just a note on your stocking, tho. Your gonna need to up your numbers of Johanni and Albino Zebra. Cichlids are not pairing fish. With both of those species you want one male to 3 or 4 females.
QHgal

Postby lotsofish » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:12 pm

If you ask the experts on the loach forum they will say NO!

http://forums.loaches.com/index.php
lotsofish

Postby stargirly1208 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:27 pm