South American Cichlids • New Member, Oscar Questions

Discussion regarding only South American Cichlid species. (Oscars, Geophagines, Discus, Apistogramma, Green Terrors, Angels, Severums, Pikes, etc.)

Moderators: notho2000, Iggy Newcastle

New Member, Oscar Questions

Postby LovesRuben » Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:32 am

Hi
I am a new member here. I am not new to having freshwater fish, but I am fairly new to keeping Oscars. I have 2 and I am completely smitten with them...Never thought I would love large American cichlids but I am getting a little bit obsessed with them now.
I have had my Oscars for a little bit over a year. Got them as babies at the same time. They were together , by themselves in a larger tank at first, but one was injuring the other and dividers were not staying in place. I separated them each into their own smaller tanks.
They are both the only fish in those tanks.
One is in 95 gallon with a Rena Filstar XP3 and SunSun 304B.
The other is in a 75 gallon with Cascade 1000 and Jebo 835.
I change about 70% of the water on each tank each week.
One concern is the one in 75 gallon. I know this is the minimum tank size but I was a little pressed for space after having to separate them. I dont like it that her tank is smaller than the other , but was hurting for room where they are kept (guest room). She is right around 8.5 - 9 " which I thought seemed on the small side for a 1yr+ Oscar. Should I be looking for a larger tank and try to make room?
Another concern is whether or not I have enough filtration.
And I have the tanks bare bottom with some fake plants and decor to hide behind. It is easier to clean this way. But she seemed to want things to do so I put aquarium rocks on a plate in her tank. She likes to move the rocks all over the tank. Should I just cover the bottom? Or does a plate-full seem like enough to keep her busy?