DIY - Projects & Ideas • DIY 75G Stand/Tank build (Pic Heavy)

This is for do-it-yourself projects and inventions.

Moderators: Deeda, Kanorin

DIY 75G Stand/Tank build (Pic Heavy)

Postby Cali_screw » Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:59 am

Hey everyone,

So its my first time at an attempt to build a stand, I recently picked up a 75 Gallon aquarium to upgrade to from my 55 gallon. Planning on a whole entire different scene in the tank. The new Stand will consist of the stand itself with a top canopy to bring it all together. I also plan on changing from HOB filters to two Canister filters which will be inside the new stand.

Any constructive criticism is appreciated along with ideas!

Current 55 gallon tank before it had fish lol

New 75 Gallon, the beginnings of it,

Start of the stand,
Cali_screw

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby 13razorbackfan » Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:16 am

Looks good and sturdy so far! :thumb:
13razorbackfan

Postby Cali_screw » Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:41 am

13razorbackfan wrote:Looks good and sturdy so far! :thumb:

Still need to add some Middle Column supports on front and back.
Cali_screw

Postby pistolpete » Sat Jan 21, 2012 3:54 am

Absolutely do not need middle column supports. a glass tank only needs support on the ends. For a tank to "sag" in the middle, you would have to deform 16 inches of glass vertically, which would require several thousand pounds of force to be applied.
pistolpete

Postby Cali_screw » Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:07 am

pistolpete wrote:Absolutely do not need middle column supports. a glass tank only needs support on the ends. For a tank to "sag" in the middle, you would have to deform 16 inches of glass vertically, which would require several thousand pounds of force to be applied.

Any more bracing you can see that i may need? Also Should i add a board to the bottom of the framing to have the load be on a flat surface? rather then on the framing?
Cali_screw