Illness, Health & Nutrition • API Sludge Destroyer

For discussion on fish illness, health and nutrition.

Moderators: Robin, GTZ

API Sludge Destroyer

Postby Banshee86 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:32 pm

Hello all, this is my first time in a forum and I hope I'm doing this right as I just joined today! I have a 75 gallon tank with about 13 juvy africans in it. It has been established for about 2 months now, and yesterday I went to give it a thorough cleaning because of cloudiness.

I have a hob aqeuon 55/75 and a fluval 405 running on it. I didnt mess with the fluval at all during the cleaning because it seemed to be pushing alot of water out the output and wasnt bogged down at all, although I did put some water polishing pads up top to help make the water clear about a week and a half ago. Anyways, after I did a vac/water change, I now have some ammonia and nitrite showing up on my master test kit. I just vacuumed the sand, there was ALOT of poop under most decorations. And I took the filter cartridges out of the hob and rinsed them in a bucket of tank water. Why am I getting ammonia and nitrite readings now after all the poop I cleaned up? Shouldnt the fluval 405 have enough bio media in it to handle the load? Makes no sense to me.

I need to know a good setup for my baskets in the Fluval other than carbon because I have an oscar, and I have heard that carbon can contribute to HITH on Oscars. Right now I have fluval prefilter on bottom, then biomax above that, then carbon above that, then water polishing pads on top. The pads dont last long, recommended 7-10 days before throwing away. I need to know what else I can use in the media baskets. Can i just stuff the top with filter floss instead of polishing pads? Can I cut my own media sponge to fit in the baskets.