Lake Tanganyika Species • New to Cichlids

Discussion regarding only Lake Tanganyika species.

Moderators: triscuit, Floridagirl

New to Cichlids

Postby CCCrandall » Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:35 pm

Hello everyone i am new to cichlids, i only worked with geckos until this past week. I was at my local pet store selling some of my geckos and i saw some Julio. "Gombi" and i was intrigued so i bought a 30gal and 2 of them. I was so entertained by them i went back and bought 2 Julio. Ornatus and Lepido. Kendali. Let the addiction begin:)
CCCrandall

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: New to Cichlids

Postby Iggy Newcastle » Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:05 pm

Cool and welcome to the forum.

Did your LFS tell you anything about cycling your tank?

http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/fishless_cycle.php

Very important stuff. If your tank is not cycled I would suggest purchasing some Dr Tims One & Only nitrifying bacteria to put you on the fast track to a cycled tank.
Iggy Newcastle

Postby DJRansome » Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:41 pm

Also, two species of julidochromis are likely to crossbreed and a 30G might not be big enough for either pair to be happy cohabiting. I think the kendali needs a bigger tank, but hopefully experienced keepers will chime in.
125G Aulonocara, Malawi Haps, Vics (trial), S Polli
75G Demasoni, Labs, Cyno hara, Met estherae, S Multipunctata
75G Calvus, Caudopunctatus, Cyp Kerenge, S Petricola
33G Neo omnicaeruleus; 33G Flameback Kisumu; 33G P nyererei Igombe; 33G Hap ruby green
DJRansome
Global Moderator

Postby Razzo » Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:05 pm

Iggy Newcastle wrote:...suggest purchasing some Dr Tims One & Only nitrifying bacteria to put you on the fast track to a cycled tank.

Congrats on entering the cichlid world. Many-many interesting sizes, shapes, colors, and personalities of cichlids. Have to be careful mixing them which we can help :)